Home   Team Canada   Davis Cup   Davis Cup Finals
Davis Cup Finals


Monday, November 18th – Canada vs Italy – Session 2 start time: 4:00 pm (GMT+2)

  • Click here to purchase your tickets for Canada against Italy.

Tuesday, November 19th – Canada vs United States – Session 2 start time: Not before 6:00 pm (GMT+2)

  • Click here to purchase your tickets for Canada against United States.


  • From April 21 to July 15, 2019, save 15% on the purchase of your tickets.*
  • From July 15 until the end of the tournament, save 10% on the purchase of your tickets.*

*Applicable for tickets on November 18 (Canada vs. Italy) and November 19 (Canada vs. United States).

NB: When selecting your seats, if you wish to be seated next to Tennis Canada’s fan base, select section 14.

Hotel and Transportation

For questions regarding accommodations, please contact travel agency Viajes El Corte Inglés at daviscupfinals@viajeseci.es.

Format of the Event

In total, 18 teams will be competing for a chance to take home the Davis Cup trophy. The 18 finalists are: the four semi-finalists from 2018 (France, Spain, United States and Croatia), the 12 winners from the qualification round as well as the two nations that received wild cards (WC) from the ITF, Great Britain and Argentina.

Each nation will play in two ties consisting of three matches each (two singles and one doubles). The matches will be played as a best of three sets. Canada will begin the tournament in Group F, playing against Italy and the United States.

The winners of the six groups along with the two second best teams (based on the number of wins and the set win/loss percentage) will qualify for the quarter-finals, which will take place on Friday. The semi-finals will be played on Saturday and the final on Sunday, November 24.

Tournament Site

The Davis Cup Finals in Madrid will be played at the Caja Mágica, an avant-garde facility that is considered a European monument and was designed by the French architect Dominique Perrault.

The stadium hosts various events throughout the year, including the ATP Masters 1000 tournament in Madrid. Consisting of three different arenas, with a capacity to host between 2,500 and 12,500 spectators each, the facility also features a few multipurpose areas.

The Caja Mágica is located in proximity to public transit (bus and metro).


The capital of Spain, Madrid is a captivating destination, whether you are travelling on a budget or are looking for a luxurious getaway. The list of leisurely and cultural activities ranges from museums to VIP experiences.

Madrid also offers a wide variety of possibilities for families on vacation as well as for people in search of the latest trends in fashion, music and art.

Quaint streets, boutiques, restaurants and bars off the beaten path await you, as well as monuments, museums and parks in the more traditional districts.


For questions regarding the Davis Cup Finals, please contact us at info@tenniscanada.com.

Competition Format

The new season-ending Davis Cup Finals event will take place over the course of one week on 18-24 November in 2019. The Finals will feature 18 teams – 12 qualifiers, the previous year’s four semifinalists and two wild card nations.

The 18 teams will compete in six round-robin groups of three teams. The six group winners plus the two second-placed teams with the best records based on sets and games won will qualify for the quarterfinals.

The Davis Cup champions will be crowned after the completion of the knockout phase.

The two teams with the worst record after the round-robin phase of the Finals will be relegated to Zone Group action the following year. The 12 teams that finish in 5th to 16th position will compete in the qualifying event the following year.


Davis Cup by BNP Paribas began in 1900 as a competition between USA and Great Britain and it now is the world’s largest annual international team competition in sport with 132 countries participating in 2018.

The competition was created in Boston in 1900 by four Harvard University students and the first year saw the USA defeat the British Isles 3-0. One of the American players, Dwight Davis, designed the format of the tournament and ordered a trophy, and the tournament would soon be named after that very trophy.

In 1905, the tournament expanded to include France, Austria, Belgium, and Australasia and by the 1920s over 20 nations regularly participated. In 1969, 50 nations competed for the first time.

Throughout those years, the previous year’s champion automatically received a spot in the final and was challenged by the winner of a knockout competition between the other countries. The format was changed in 1972 with all countries now taking part in an elimination event.

Since 1981, Davis Cup has been organized into a 16-team World Group and regional zonal groups split across three regions (Americas, Asia/Oceania, and Europe/Africa) and four tiers (Group I, II, III, and IV).

Canada first began competing in Davis Cup in 1913, when it reached the semifinals. Its next best results until the 1990s were making the Americas Zone final in 1970 and 1982. In 1990, the Canadians won three consecutive ties for the first time in 78 years of Davis Cup competition to advance to the World Group. Canada remained in the World Group in 1991 and 1992, then returned to zonal competition for 11 years until briefly making another World Group appearance in 2004.

Team Canada then clinched three consecutive away ties in 2011 to earn a spot in the 2012 World Group. Canada has been in the top tier ever since, advancing to the World Group semifinals for the first time in a historic and unforgettable 2013 season. In 2019, Canada will compete in a refurbished Davis Cup format alongside 24 world-class teams for a spot in the season-ending Davis Cup Finals event.