Home   News   Build up begins for the 10th annual Canadian University Tennis Championships

Build up begins for the 10th annual Canadian University Tennis Championships

Jun 22, 2018
written by: Tennis Canada
written by: Tennis Canada
filed in:

With exams complete and summer tennis in full swing, university players are turning their attention to the upcoming Canadian University Tennis Championships held during Rogers Cup presented by National Bank on August 10-12, 2018.

This year’s tournament marks the tenth anniversary of the Championships and the second consecutive year where teams from all four regions across the country will be represented.  All of the participating teams have qualified by winning their respective regional championships and will now compete for a national title.

The teams are set!

The women’s draw will see University of Alberta, University of Montreal, Western University and University of New Brunswick battle it out on the courts at IGA Stadium in Montreal. All of the teams are repeat participants from last year with the exception of New Brunswick who will be competing in their maiden National Championships. Play will begin on Friday August 10, 2018.

The men’s event will take place at Aviva Centre in Toronto beginning on Saturday, August 11, 2018 and will feature the University of Toronto, University of Montreal, University of Alberta and University of New Brunswick.  A new champion will be crowned in this division as the University of Toronto overcame the defending National Champions, Western University, in regular season action to earn the Ontario region qualifying bid for the Championships.

Make plans now to catch all of the action

Both the men’s and women’s events will take place during the finals weekend of Rogers Cup presented by National Bank and ticketholders can catch all the action as the matches will be played on the same courts as the Rogers Cup.  The draws will be conducted and posted here on July 12th.

Make plans now to come out and cheer on your favourite team and see the best in Canadian university tennis. For more information on the Canadian University Tennis Championships, email sronan@tenniscanada.com.

History of the Championships

After launching as a co-ed event in 2009, the Championships have grown and are now separate men’s and women’s events held on the site of the Rogers Cup presented by National Bank tournaments in Montreal and Toronto.  Past winners include:

Year/Event Men’s Champion Women’s Champion
2017 Western University University of Alberta
2016 University of Alberta York University
2015 University Laval York University
Co-ed Championships
2014 University of Alberta
2013 McGill University
2012 Université de Montreal
2011 Université de Montreal
2010 Université de Montreal
2009 Université de Montreal