With the summer tennis season in full swing, university players from across the country are looking ahead to the Canadian University Tennis Championships held in conjunction with the Rogers Cup presented by National Bank on August 10-11, 2019 in Montreal (men) and Toronto (women).

All four teams in both the men’s and women’s divisions qualified to this prestigious tournament by winning their respective regional championships (Western Canada, Ontario, Quebec, and Atlantic Canada) earlier in the year. They will now battle it out for the right to call themselves national champions.

History made as teams are set

For the first time since separate championships began in 2015, the men’s and women’s teams represent the same four universities. Defending champions University of Montreal claimed both the men’s and women’s championships last year and the Carabins are hungry to repeat their titles in 2019.

Previous champions University of Alberta are never to be counted out, while the Western men’s team returns after a year’s absence alongside the women who earned a third-place finish last year. Finally, it is with great excitement that Memorial University has qualified to the national championships for the first time in program history.

Don’t miss the action

Stay tuned for the draw, which will take place on July 18, 2019. The tournament will be played on August 10-11, 2019, the finals weekend of the Rogers Cup presented by National Bank in both Montreal and Toronto. Rogers Cup ticketholders can watch all the action on site at Stade IGA in Montreal and the Sobeys Stadium in Toronto. Don’t miss the best university teams in the country battle for the title of national champions!