Home   News   Robillard-Millette becomes first Canadian to qualify for ITF Junior Masters

Robillard-Millette becomes first Canadian to qualify for ITF Junior Masters

Apr 05, 2016
written by: Tennis Canada
written by: Tennis Canada
filed in:

The second edition of the ITF Junior Masters will be played from April 8-10 at the Sichuan International Tennis Center in Chengdu, China. Similarly to the ATP and WTA Finals, the tournament brings together the Top 8 boys and girls based on the 2015 year-end rankings. Charlotte Robillard-Millette (Blainville, QC) will be the first Canadian to compete in the event this year.

It promises to be a memorable experience for Robillard-Millette after enjoying a breakthrough 2015 season that saw her reach a career-high of no. 4 on the ITF junior rankings. She started the year by reaching the quarter-finals of the Australian Open and followed up by winning two consecutive titles on clay in the spring. The 17-year-old had her 15 match win streak snapped in the final of the Grade A event in Bonfiglio, Italy. Two weeks ago, she reached the final of the Grade 1 Sarawak Chief Minister’s Cup in Malaysia.


By qualifying for the ITF Junior Masters, Robillard-Millette will receive a $7,000 travel bursary that could climb to as much as $15,000 if she wins the title. This is the only junior tournament in the world that offers prize money. Each player is guaranteed to play three matches before determining the finalists. In addition to prize money, the champions will also be offered wildcards for pro events. A mentoring program has also been set up throughout the week so that athletes can solicit precious advice about transitioning from juniors to the pros. The program is being overseen by former American pro Chanda Rubin, Dr. Anne Quinn, a specialist in Sport Science and High Performance, as well as former World No. 3 and two-time Grand Slam champion Li Na, who is also tournament ambassador.

The draw for the ITF Junior Masters will be held on Wednesday April 6. Robillard-Millette will vie for the title against Katie Swan (GBR), Anna Blinkova (RUS), Tereza Mihalikova (SVK), Usue Arconada (USA), Sofia Kenin (USA), Kayla Day (USA), Miriam Kolodziejova (CZE). You can follow the matches live at: www.itftennis.com/juniors.