It was a week to remember for Team Canada, presented by Sobeys at the 2023 Billie Jean King Cup Finals in Seville, Spain, concluding with yet another piece of Canadian tennis history being written.

Led by captain Heidi El Tabah, Eugenie Bouchard, Gabriela Dabrowski, Leylah Annie Fernandez, Rebecca Marino, and Marina Stakusic defeated Spain, Poland, Czechia, and Italy en route to being crowned world champions for the first time in remarkable fashion despite being underdogs in many of the matchups they were faced with.

Before capturing this prestigious team title in 2023, Canada’s best result at the Billie Jean King Cup came in 1988 when Helen Kelesi, Jill Hetherington, and Rene Simpson broke new ground for their country by reaching the semifinals.

Final stage format

Twelve national squads competed in four round-robin groups of three (A, B, C and D). The ties consisted of three matches: two singles and one doubles. The winners of each group moved onto the semi-finals, and the last two nations standing went head-to-head for the title of 2023 Billie Jean King Cup by Gainbridge champions. Canada played in Goup C alongside Spain and Poland.


Relive Team Canada’s journey to becoming World Champions at the 2023 Billie Jean King Cup Finals in Seville, Spain.