On August 16, 2018, the International Tennis Federation (ITF) voted to revamp the World Group competition. Inaugurated in 2019, the new format involves two stages: a qualifying round and the Finals.

Davis Cup Qualifiers

At the two-day Davis Cup Qualifiers, 24 nations compete for 12 qualifying places. Generally held in February or March, the ties consist of five matches: four in singles and one in doubles.

Davis Cup Finals

A total of 18 teams battle to win Davis Cup: the 12 winners from the qualifying round, the four semi-finalists from the previous year and two nations awarded a Wild Card by the ITF.

The 18 countries play in six groups of three. Each nation plays two ties featuring two singles matches and one doubles match played to a best-of-three sets.

The winners of each group and two runners-up (based on wins and percentage of sets won) qualify for the quarter-finals. In the knockout phase leading up to the final, teams play two singles matches and one doubles match.