The BNP Paribas World Team Cup is considered to be the Davis Cup and Fed Cup of wheelchair tennis, the biggest team event in the sport. Following regional qualifying, World Team Cup is held over a one-week period in a different host city each year, bringing together nations from around the world to compete in four categories: men, women, quad and junior.

The first World Team Cup took place in California in 1985 with six men’s teams. The women’s category was introduced the following year, with quad and junior competitors joining the field in 1998 and 2000. Including the qualifying events, approximately 100 teams from 50 countries now participate in World Team Cup action each year.

Wheelchait tennis players and their coaches on court
Wheelchair tennis mixed ATP WTA doubles team bumping fists

Canada has never won the World Team Cup, with its best result a third-place finish in the women’s tournament in 1999.

Next edition

World Team Cup by BNP Paribas
May 4 to 10, 2020
Vilamoura, Portugal

*This tournament has been postponed. More information will be communicated once it becomes available.