The official draw ceremony for the Davis Cup by Rakuten Finals took place today in London. The 18 countries who have qualified for the finals have been divided into six groups, with three nations in each group. Canada is in Group B along with Kazakhstan and Sweden and will thus face both of these countries during the round robin stage. The Davis Cup finals will take place from November 23 to 29, 2020 on the hard courts in Caja Magica.

“We are looking forward to competing in the Davis Cup Finals for a second consecutive year. Although we are seeded for this year’s event, we know that we have a tough task ahead as all of the teams who are set to compete have strong line-ups. As we saw last year, any nation can cause an upset because the caliber of play is so high. Our players will be ready to compete and are excited to the challenge that lies ahead,” stated the Canadian Team Captain, Frank Dancevic, following the draw.

The winners of the six groups along with the two next best nations (depending on the number of wins and the percentage of sets and games won/lost) will qualify for the quarter-finals which will take place on Friday. The semi-finals will be played on Saturday and the final on Sunday, November 29. Each of these match-ups will consist of two singles matches and a doubles match, all played as a best of three sets.

The Canadian team secured their spot in the Davis Cup finals by reaching the final at last year’s event. Canada went on a surprise deep run, defeating some top nations, including Australia and Russia, in the quarter-finals and semi-finals, respectively. The four nations who reached the semi-finals in 2019, Canada, Spain, Russia and Great Britain, have automatically qualified for the Finals in 2020.

Group A




Group B




Group C


Great Britain

Czech Republic

Group D




Group E

United States



Group F