Billie Jean King Cup Champions Tour

Last November, captained by Heidi El Tabakh, the Canadian team presented by Sobeys comprised of Eugenie Bouchard, Gabriela Dabrowski, Leylah Annie Fernandez, Rebecca Marino, and Marina Stakusic made history by winning the prestigious Billie Jean King Cup title. It was the first time in the competition’s 60-year history that Canada had lifted the famous trophy, which will now travel across the country, stopping in all 10 provinces, as part of the official Billie Jean King Cup Champions Tour presented by Sobeys.

As well as being displayed at tennis clubs, sponsors, city halls, and public spaces, the trophy will be featured at the National Bank Open presented by Rogers in both cities. In Toronto, with the WTA back in town, a special on-court ceremony with the whole team will be held as part of the event’s opening night (August 6) to celebrate their historic achievement.

Details regarding each stop will be confirmed in the coming weeks. Tour stops will be added HERE as they are confirmed. Fans will be able to pose for photos with the trophy and are encouraged to share on social media with the hashtags #BJKCChamps23 and #CoupeBJKChamps23.


In the Finals in Seville, Spain, Canada was tasked with facing a tough Italian team. But the Canadians were up to the challenge as Marina Stakusic and Fernandez each won their singles matches, clinching the title for Canada.

Relive some of the best moments from Canada’s historic journey here:


Helen Kelesi pictured wearing the maple leaf (Photo: Melinda Phillips)
Canada’s team at the World Group Play-Offs in 2015
Dabrowski and Marino celebrate their win over France at the 2021 Finals

Since the launch of the Billie Jean King Cup (formerly Federation Cup) in 1963, Canada has participated in the event every year – except for 1965 – and boasts a record of 111 wins and 73 losses.

Through the years
  • 1988: Led by Rene Collins, Jill Hetherington, and Helen Kelesi, Canada reached its first ever semi-final.  
  • 2014: From 2013 to 2014, Canada won all seven of its ties and qualified for the World Group for the first time since 1994.
  • 2021: In 2021, the Canadian team consisting of Françoise Abanda, Dabrowski, Marino, and Carol Zhao took part in the new format’s Finals for the very first time.
  • 2023: … Canada clinched its first-ever title and became the World No. 1s!


Initiatives and tools from Tennis Canada

The latest news about local and international tournaments

Promotions for the National Bank Open