Photo: Gyles Dias

The 2022 Canadian University Championships were held this past weekend at Sobeys Stadium in Toronto, Ontario. This year, four teams from their respective Universities across Canada, in both the men’s and women’s draw, competed for the 2022 Championship title.

These teams included:

  • Men’s Draw
    • University of Dalhousie
    • University of Montreal
    • University of British Columbia
    • Western University
  • Women’s Draw
    • University of Alberta
    • University of Toronto
    • Atlantic University
    • University of Montreal

In the women’s draw it was the University of Alberta who claimed the Championship title with a convincing 6-1 victory over the University of Toronto Varsity Blues. This would be the University of Alberta women’s teams third consecutive title in a row, breaking a new record for University tennis. University of Alberta’s M.V.P Jena Cheng and teammate Alexandra Jewitt led the charge winning all four matches played.

Photo: Gyles Dias

There were also records broken in the men’s draw. This year marked the first time in program history the University of British Columbia Thunderbirds qualified for a National Championship and were able to pull off an impressive win to claim the title. The Thunderbirds overcame the University of Montreal in a nail biting 4-3 thriller to clench the 2022 University Championship crown. During their run to the championships, they were able to declare their spot with a 4-2 victory over the Western Mustangs in the semi-finals. University of British Columbia’s David Zoric was awarded M.V.P. and Coach of the Year for his efforts in assisting his team to victory.

In the Bronze medal match up on the women’s side it was the Montreal Carbine who were able to sweep the Atlantic University All-Stars 7-0 to claim third place. On the men’s side it was the Western Mustangs who overtook the Dalhousie Tigers 6-1 to claim the bronze medal.

Women’s Coach of the Year:

  • Ivan Quintero