Back to all players

Natalia Lanucha

BirthdateMarch 9 1993 Birth placeJastrzebie-Zdroj, Poland ResidenceMontreal, Quebec Height5'5 PlaysRight handed/one-handed backhand


WHAT IS YOUR EARLIEST TENNIS/WHEELCHAIR TENNIS MEMORY? My first practice in 2016. I remember there were three players and a volunteer who was giving us advice. It was the first time I used a sports wheelchair and played tennis. Everyone was very welcoming. Everyone gave me advice on how to move and how to hit. I fell in love with the sport that day. HOW, WHERE, AND WHEN DID YOU START PLAYING? Ever since I can remember, I dreamed of becoming an athlete. When I was diagnosed with cancer, I thought that dream was over forever. At 23, I realized that was not true. So, I started to do some research and stumbled upon tennis. Thus, I have always been drawn to tennis courts, balls, and the racket. However, it was by trying it that I understood it was the sport for me. I love the feeling of freedom and speed when moving. Also, I love varying the technique to move the ball. WHAT MADE YOU DECIDE TO CHOOSE TENNIS? Depuis que je me souviens, je rêvais de devenir une athlète. Lorsque j’ai eu le diagnostic du cancer, j’ai pensé que ce rêve est fini pour toujours. En ayant 23 ans, j’ai compris que c’est faux. J’ai donc commencé à faire de la recherche et je suis tombé sur le tennis. Ainsi, j’ai toujours été attiré par les terrains de tennis, par les balles et la raquette. Toutefois, c’est en l’essayant que j’ai compris que c’est le sport pour moi. J’adore le sentiment de liberté et de la vitesse lors de déplacement. Aussi, j’adore varier la technique pour faire déplacer la balle. YOUR BIGGEST INSPIRATION AND WHY? Since my childhood, my biggest inspiration has been Terry Fox. He also had bone cancer and was very determined to achieve his goals. Thus, he gave his all during his life. I like the fact that his idea survived and even today people raise funds to help research fighting against cancer. FAVOURITE SPORT OTHER THAN TENNIS? I like cycling and I love watching ski jumping. AMILY, WHAT DO THEY DO AND HOW HAVE THEY IMPACTED YOUR TENNIS CAREER? My family has supported me from the beginning. I am the only tennis player, but they all took the racket in their hand to hit with me. Moreover, they all are interested in my performance and encourage me a lot. Also, my mother started playing tennis herself. FAVOURITE ATHLETE? Iga Świątek FAVOURITE TV SHOW? Merlin FAVOURITE FOOD? Chicken broth SUPER POWER YOU WISH YOU COULD HAVE? Reading minds WHAT’S ONE THING PEOPLE WOULD BE SURPRISED TO LEARN ABOUT YOU? I am able to draw DESCRIBE YOURSELF IN 3 WORDS? Persevering, patient, positive IF YOU WEREN’T PLAYING TENNIS, WHAT WOULD YOU BE DOING? I would be studying and working as a caregiver in a residence for the elderly OTHER THAN TENNIS, WHAT ARE YOU MOST PASSIONATE ABOUT? Reading and drawing