Félix Auger-Aliassime - NBO

Photo: Tyler Anderson – Tennis Canada

He also earns the titles of Most Improved Male Player of the Year and Male Singles player of the year

On Wednesday, Tennis Canada announced that Félix Auger-Aliassime earned three Tennis Canada Excellence Awards: Male Player of the Year, Male Singles Player of the Year and Most Improved Male Player of the Year. The other Excellence Awards in men’s tennis went to Denis Shapovalov, Male Doubles Player of the Year, and Jaden Weekes, Male Junior Player of the Year.

“Félix, Denis and Jaden had excellent seasons, and we are very pleased to honour them today,” said Michael Downey, President and Chief Executive Officer of Tennis Canada. “In the challenging conditions brought about by the COVID-19 pandemic, all three found ways to stand out and deliver exceptional performances. Félix—the first Canadian to reach the men’s semifinal of the US Open—pursued his meteoric ascent, rising to a career-high World No.10. Denis was the first player since Milos Raonic to reach for the semifinals of Wimbledon before falling to World No.1 Novak Djokovic. Finally, on the junior circuit, Jaden showed us all that he is one of the brightest stars among the new generation of players.”  

At only 21 years old, Félix Auger-Aliassime is Tennis Canada’s Male Player of the Year and Male Singles Player of the Year for the first time in his career and the Most Improved Male Player of the Year for the second. The Quebecer started out the season at No.21 and ended it as the World No.11 after moving up to a career high at No.10. In addition to his brilliant run at Flushing Meadows, he competed in the quarterfinals of Wimbledon and two ATP finals (Stuttgart and Melbourne 2). He closed out the year with a record of 38 wins and 24 losses that includes notable victories over Top 10 players (No.6 Alexander Zverev, No.8 Matteo Berrettini, No.8 Roger Federer and No.10 Diego Schwartzman).

Denis shapovalov fist pump us open
Photo: Cameraworks USA

In addition to his remarkable season in singles, which he ended as World No.14 after climbing as high as No.10 in July and August, Denis Shapovalov made his mark in doubles and secured his third consecutive title of MaleDoubles Player of the Year. With his long-time partner Rohan Bopanna, the Ontarian competed in the quarterfinals of two Masters 1000 events (Madrid and Indian Wells) and the semifinals of the ATP 250 St. Petersburg Open.

Jaden Weekes - Repentigny
Photo: Sarah-Jade Champagne

On the junior circuit, Jaden Weekes of Lasalle, Québec, had a very successful season. He posted a record of 23 wins and 11 losses (including an impressive 20–4 record on hard courts) and won two Grade 3 titles this year, in Canada (Repentigny, Québec) and Israel (Ramat Hasharon). His performances gave him a tremendous boost in the rankings from No.593 to No.81.


YearMale Player of the YearFemale Player of the Year
1982Réjean GenoisMarjorie Blackwood
1983Glenn MichibataCarling Bassett
1984Martin WostenholmeCarling Bassett
1985Glenn MichibataCarling Bassett
1986Andrew SznajderHelen Kelesi
1987Grant ConnellHelen Kelesi
1988Andrew SznajderJill Hetherington
1989Andrew SznajderHelen Kelesi
1990Grant ConnellHelen Kelesi
1991Grant ConnellPatricia Hy
1992Grant ConnellPatricia Hy
1993Greg RusedskiPatricia Hy
1994Sébastien LareauJana Nejedly
1995Grant ConnellPatricia Hy-Boulais
1996Sébastien LareauPatricia Hy-Boulais
1997Daniel NestorPatricia Hy-Boulais
1998No record of awardNo record of award
1999No record of awardNo record of award
2000Daniel Nestor and Sébastien LareauSonya Jeyaseelan
2001Daniel NestorJana Nejedly
2002Frédéric NiemeyerMaureen Drake
2003Daniel NestorMaureen Drake
2004Daniel NestorAleksandra Wozniak
2005Daniel NestorStéphanie Dubois
2006Frank DancevicAleksandra Wozniak
2007Daniel NestorStéphanie Dubois
2008Daniel NestorAleksandra Wozniak
2009Daniel NestorAleksandra Wozniak
2010Daniel NestorRebecca Marino
2011Milos RaonicRebecca Marino
2012Milos RaonicAleksandra Wozniak
2013Milos RaonicEugenie Bouchard
2014Milos RaonicEugenie Bouchard
2015Milos RaonicEugenie Bouchard
2016Milos RaonicEugenie Bouchard
2017Denis ShapovalovBianca Andreescu
2018Milos RaonicEugenie Bouchard
2019Denis ShapovalovBianca Andreescu
2020Milos RaonicLeylah Annie Fernandez
2021Félix Auger-AliassimeLeylah Annie Fernandez