Photo: Martin Sidorjak

On Sunday, at the Davis Cup Final 8 in Malaga, Spain, the International Tennis Federation (ITF) held the draw ceremony for the 2024 Davis Cup Qualifiers. As a result, Team Canada presented by Sobeys will face off against the Republic of Korea in a yet-to-be-determined Canadian location. The Qualifiers, which include 24 countries vying for 12 spots in the Group Stage of the Davis Cup Finals, will take place from February 2 to 4, 2024.

At the 2022 edition of the tournament, Team Canada defeated Australia 2-0 in the championship tie to clinch the nation’s first-ever title. As the winning country, they automatically qualified for the 2023 Group Stage, where they went on to beat Italy, Sweden, and Chile to claim a spot in the final stage of the event for a fourth consecutive year. Their reign as defending Davis Cup champions ended last Tuesday after falling to Finland in the quarter-finals.

Canada is currently ranked as the No. 1 country in the ITF rankings and will play against the Republic of Korea – the No. 18 seeds. It will be the second meeting between the countries, having previously faced off at the 2022 Group Stage in Valencia, Spain. The Canadian squad, led by Félix Auger-Aliassime and Vasek Pospisil, took the tie by a score of 2-1.

It will be the first time Canada hosts a tie since 2018 in Toronto. Dating back to 2012, Canada has won eight of their previous nine ties played on home soil.

The draw results for the Davis Cup Qualifiers are below. The winning country of each matchup will join 2023 finalists Australia and Italy, as well as wild cards Great Britain and Spain, at the 2024 Group Stage.

Canada (1) (c)* vs. Korea, Rep.
Serbia (2) (c) vs. Slovakia
Croatia (3) (c) vs. Belgium
Hungary (c) vs. Germany (4)
Netherlands (5) (c) vs. Switzerland
Czechia (6) (c) vs. Israel
Ukraine (c)* vs. USA (7)
Finland (8) (c) vs. Portugal
Chinese Taipei (c)* vs. France (9)
Argentina (c) vs. Kazakhstan (10)
Sweden (11) (c) vs. Brazil
Chile (12) (c) vs. Peru

(#) = seed; (c) = choice of ground; * = choice of ground decided by lot

The ITF also announced today the matchups for the 2024 Billie Jean King Cup by Gainbridge Qualifiers. Canada, the 2023 world champions, will get a direct entry into the Finals, taking place in Seville, Spain in November.